Minot Air Force Base   Right Corner Banner
Join the Air Force

News > NEWS RELEASE: Strengthened Laws Against Drunk Driving in ND Takes Effect
NEWS RELEASE: Strengthened Laws Against Drunk Driving in ND Takes Effect

Posted 7/2/2013   Updated 7/2/2013 Email story   Print story

    


by Minot Air Force Base Public Affairs

7/2/2013 - BISMARCK, N.D. -- Stricter laws against drunk driving in North Dakota took effect Monday, July 1.  

Gov. Jack Dalrymple signed House Bill 1302 in April, strengthening North Dakota's laws against drunk driving.  

"This legislation carries a clear message that driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a very serious offense and will not be tolerated," Dalrymple said. "The new law includes tougher penalties and many offenders will be required to participate in an intensive program to monitor and enforce sobriety.

"This new law is enforceable, it is a stronger deterrent and it will help save lives," Dalrymple said.

Key provisions of the new law include:

·A new charge of aggravated Driving Under the Influence (DUI) for first-time offenders whose blood-alcohol content (BAC) is higher than 0.16.

·Mandatory enrollment in the 24/7 Sobriety Program for anyone convicted of two or more DUI offenses. The program requires offenders submit to mandatory breath tests or the use of remote alcohol monitors.

·Significant increases in mandatory jail sentences for repeat offenders. First-time offenders with BAC higher than 0.16 must serve at least two days in jail or perform 10 hours of community service per day of jail time sentenced. First-time offenders currently do not face any mandatory sentence of jail or community service.

·Creating a Class A felony offense for a driver, while in violation of the DUI law, to cause the death of another person. The charge of criminal vehicular homicide carries a mandatory three-year prison sentence and a mandatory 10-year prison sentence if the offender was previously convicted of DUI or reckless driving. The maximum prison sentence is 20 years. Currently, the offense may be charged as a Class B felony offense under the state's manslaughter statute or a Class C felony under the state's negligent homicide statute, both of which carry shorter maximum sentences.

·Creating a Class C felony offense for a driver who, while in violation of the DUI law, causes serious injures another person. The charge of criminal vehicular injury carries a mandatory prison sentence of one year and a mandatory two-year sentence if the offender was previously convicted of DUI or reckless driving.

·Providing $360,000 to support statewide education outreach regarding the dangers involved in drinking and driving.


For more information on ND's new DUI laws, click here.



tabComments
No comments yet.  
Add a comment

 Inside Minot AFB

ima cornerSearch


Site Map      Contact Us     Questions     USA.gov     Security and Privacy notice     E-publishing  
Suicide Prevention    SAPR   IG   EEO   Accessibility/Section 508   No FEAR Act